You Don’t Have To Be Talented

When I first started drawing, I didn’t really think much of it, I just knew i was a little better than my other friends. My drawings weren’t nearly as good as the others my age though. I thought I wasn’t talented and just gave up. I thought that I wasn’t talented the slightest because I wasn’t as good enough.  
Recently, I discovered that I am good at nothing except art and making different things. I painted a couple of shoes and drew cartoons. I was decent at it.

I got praise from people for making things like that. I didn’t think much of it because a lot more people could do better. Eventually I just sort of gave up because I didn’t think that I was really that great. After sort of not doing well in any of my school classes, I realized that maybe if I tried I could do it, and be as great as others. Maybe I’ll need practice, but hey, I can still try can’t I?
So last night, I decided that I would find art lessons online, which I did and I started. I really wanted to learn how to shade, because I’ve never done shading ever in my life and its what makes a drawing look realistic. I thought maybe I can learn it from online. I didn’t get to that lesson, so I just decided to do it on my own. I wanted to draw Iron Man. He’s my favorite Marvel character (then its Deadpool and Thor). So I went ahead and did the outline. Then, I did the shading. I finishedthe drawing in an hour, and I was so surprised. I actually knew how to do it. I was so happy and proud of myself. I just assumed I couldn’t do it and I hadn’t even tried. 

The picture above is the one I drew, and I am really proud of the results. 
Just because others can do much more than you can, doesn’t mean you can’t try. You keep trying and trying until you get to their level and higher.  Do what you love, regardless if you’re good at it or not. 
-Zara

10 thoughts on “You Don’t Have To Be Talented

  1. Pingback: Find Your Element, Overcome Obstacles: 3 Success Stories | sairyou.me

  2. Hi there,

    I found your post to be inspirational! I have a lot of students who think and feel the same way. At first they think that it is all about talent. Either you are good at something or you’re not. Usually they have a similar experience to yours. They try something new and are surprised when they are successful.

    I think your shading of Iron Man is awesome! Keep learning and keep improving your art!

  3. Pingback: Just Keep Swimming | Mr. Neil's US History Blog

  4. Pingback: Just Keep Swimming | Mrneilhistory

  5. Hi there,

    I found your post to be inspirational! I have a lot of students who think and feel the same way. At first they think that it is all about talent. Either you are good at something or you’re not. Usually they have a similar experience to yours. They try something new and are surprised when they are successful.
    I think your shading of Iron Man is awesome! Keep learning and keep improving your art!

    I’ve included a link to a post I wrote about you your awesome post!

    http://mrneilhistory.wordpress.com/2013/06/29/just-keep-swimming-2/

Leave a Reply

