Appreciate What You Have

Last night during dinner, I asked my mom about what her relationship with my paternal grandma was like. I was curious because movies and T.V. show often depict relationships with in-laws as bad ones, so I wanted to know what her’s was like.  Growing up my mom didn’t have a mother; my maternal grandma passed away after giving birth to my mom. My mom only met my grandma a couple of times because she and my dad lived here in the US and my grandma lived in Vietnam. She told me that she was fairly certain that my grandma liked her because one day during her first trip to see my grandma, my mom was upstairs laying down and my grandma had gone upstairs to ask if she could lay with my mom. And my mom told me that she started to cry and replied “Yes of course mom” in Vietnamese. That was the first time my mom has called someone mom in Vietnamese. After hearing that story, I started to tear up because in that moment I realized how lucky I am. Of course, I frequently remember to be grateful for all I have, but if I am being completely honest, it’s the type of gratefulness that has no depth. I don’t really realize how privileged I am; sure I say thank you a lot, but I don’t stop to think about other people and how they would love to have opportunities like mine. This story really helped me to realize how important it is to be thankful for all the blessings that have graced my life. Not everyone gets chances to learn new things or to have all their family members around them, so take time and appreciate all the good things in your life.

-Kim

Leave a Reply

