“Seatbelts, everybody!”

I remember as a child, I loved a TV show called The Magic School Bus. In every episode, the teacher, Mrs. Frizzle, leads her students on a crazy but educational adventure as they learn about everything from the solar system to the human digestive system.  When I was little, I had been so jealous of Mrs. Frizzle’s students, who were able to escape the boring everyday classroom and do something fun and exciting. However, this year, I think I’ve discovered my own “magic school bus” class.

the-magic-school-bus-4f94332561535

Every Friday, my English class isn’t really “English class”. We spend the period working on and talking about our DIY, or Do-It-Yourself Project.

To be honest, I have no idea where this is going, but I am so excited to find out. This project is meant to be bigger and more meaningful than any other average project, because we are supposed to do what we are passionate about, what we love. We’ve gone “seed-shopping” for ideas, and I’ve heard some incredible ideas from my classmates. For example, some of them want to start their own clothing line. Others intend to write their own children’s book. I think it’s incredible that as high school students, we are given the opportunity to do things outside the realm of basic math, science, history and English, the typical subjects taught in every classroom at every school.

At the moment, I am not entirely sure what I want to do for my project, but no matter what it will be, I am thrilled to be able to embark on my own little “Magic School Bus” adventure.

i-heart-diy

– Karen

Leave a Reply

