DIY: The Battles We Face

1029-be-kind

For our DIY project, my group and I are planning to make a documentary on the struggles that regular people face in life by interviewing people in public places. The point of this documentary is to spread the message that everybody has their own problems and battles to fight. In addition, we will also be making a second video about the process of making our documentary, the problems we came across, our thoughts on the finished product, etc.

Progress:

We had planned to have some filming finished before the end of Thanksgiving break, but as of right now, we have not filmed anything yet due to scheduling conflicts. However, we have finished the preparations that are needed before we can actually film, such as creating a consent form for people we are interviewing, planning out locations to film at, and making a flyer to inform people we want to interview about our project. We  have also started to publicize our project’s Instagram and WordPress. Because we are a group of five, my project partners have been taking care of the things listed above. My role was to make sure we have equipment to use to film and everyone knows how to use the equipment. Over the break, I was able to check out cameras and mics from the school to bring home and have taught my group members how to to use them, as well as basic filming rules such as the Rule of Thirds.

My group and I are planning to begin filming this upcoming weekend. We have learned that because our group is relatively large, scheduling may be difficult. However, we are going to adjust our individual calendars so that we can complete the project, and hopefully do a good job.

20131202-220554.jpg

My DIY group and I are determined to succeed in our project and have a good final product.

– Karen

2 thoughts on “DIY: The Battles We Face

  1. Your project sounds cool! How long are you going to publicize your project? I think you should start now so people can think about it and start stepping up to participate. You should also avoid to getting a bunch of friends to participate, diversity is always good.
    I really hope your project gets attention and that your end product comes out amazing. I’m looking forward to watching your documentary!
    -Tiffany

  2. I am really looking forward to watching the video about your project!! It’s a great message you guys are trying to send out into society, and I like how you guys specifically split up parts of the workload so it is all evenly distributed. I relate to your difficulties being with a large group and all, but it sounds like you guys are very organized so it will all work out!

Leave a Reply

