Book Review: The Five People You Meet in Heaven

Hello world! I’m back again with another book review about a very moving novel, The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom. I picked up this book because I remember someone telling me about how they were reading this book and thought it was a great read, so I decided to give it a try. And a great read it is. This book is fairly short, 196 pages, but I wished it was longer- you don’t find me saying that about books often! I finished this book in one day, and once I finished, I wished I could read it for the first time over and over again. It was one of those books where you want to finish it, but you don’t want it to end.

The novel is about an elderly man named Eddie who dies trying to save a young girl from an accident at a seaside amusement park. When he goes up into heaven, he meets five people that have affected his life on earth and that help him figure the meaning of his life.

Throughout this novel, I’m going to be quite frank and say that many tears were shed. Despite some heartbreaking scenes, this book is filled with insight on life and things that people should now while living. I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone really because no matter how old you are, it doesn’t hurt to learn new things about life.

All together, this was an amazing read and I really hope you all take the time to read this book, if you haven’t already, and enjoy as much as I did.

Some of my favorite quotes from the book are:

“There are no random acts. We are all connected. You can no more separate one life from another than you can separate a breeze from the wind.”

“Sometimes when you sacrifice something precious, you’re not really loosing it. You’re passing it on to someone else.”

“Holding anger is poison. It eats you from the inside. We think hating is a weapon that attacks the person who harmed us, but hatred is a curved blade. And the harm we do, we do to ourselves.”

“Each affects the other and the other affects the next, and the world is full of stories, but the stories are all one.”

One of the most powerful messages this book taught me was that everything we do, affects someone else and that in turn affects someone else. After reading this, I came to realize that no matter what you do, big or small, you have an opportunity to make or maybe break someone’s day. A small act of kindness, and maybe that act of kindness will motivate that person to do something nice for someone else. You may not know it, but you have the chance to really brighten someone’s day just by doing something simple for them. If you were to do something mean or hurtful towards someone, that person could become upset, and maybe say something they don’t mean, which in turn might hurt someone else. The point of this is that be careful with what you say or do because it will affect others. I think it would be wonderful if everyone could take time out of their day to do something because it would make the world a much better place.

-Kim

Leave a Reply

