The World I Come From

Describe the world you come from — for example, your family, community or school — and tell us how your world has shaped your dreams and aspirations.

This is the personal statement for the UC (University of California) Admissions  application in order to apply for certain schools in California and  just recently we were introduced to it by our English teacher. Straight out of the gate I had absolutely no idea what kind of world I came from. The world I had supposedly come from was all a blur to me and I had no idea how I was going to write a full essay on the subject to get into college. However, one of the first things that came to mind was: should I ask my parents what they think about it? And the more and more I thought about asking them, the more and more I realized what kind of world I came from.

Stressing out about if I should ask my parents was what led me to believe that I came from a world that was constantly sheltered and supported by my parents. At first, thinking about these times of endearing support in the past brought happy thoughts to mind, thoughts of buying me ice cream and tending to my “boo-boos”. But as I began to think deeper into the subject at hand, I realized that I had been smothered my whole life. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not in the least bit ungrateful for what they have done for me, because they are the reason I have grown up to be such a polite, generous young man. But, I have just recently come to the realization such constant smothering has also led for me to become soft and incapable of being able to do things on my own. I’m too sensitive and sometimes I find that I don’t know how to do the simplest of things on my own, like the laundry for example. Such support and “babying” if you will has turned me into a sixteen year old baby. Well at least until a couple years ago…

38930140

As of high school, due to the realization of my soft interior, I began to learn for myself, how to do things and how to act in certain situations. I taught myself how to be a young adult and I taught myself how to man up when the time calls for it. In a way, my soft upbringing, led me to force myself to change. I have become stronger on my own account, ironically thanks to the “babying” of my parents. So even though, I come from a world of hugs and kisses, I have immersed a man who drinks protein shakes and eats raw meat. Well okay maybe not, but you get the point.

strong-baby

-Matt

Leave a Reply

