Idea FM: Talent Show

Following up on my  posts for my DIY project, I’m happy to say that I’ve just recently took a big step towards making progress for my project. Just in case you have no idea what I’m doing or haven’t read any of my previous posts, I’m basically writing parodies of current hip hop/rap songs and relating the subject matter to ongoing struggles in high school and/or how to deal with them. So far, song-wise, I haven’t made any progress since the last time I posted, however, I managed to do something even bigger and better to benefit my project. As of last week, I was notified that I will be in the school wide talent show to perform one of my songs! Seeing as how my audition was sort of last minute, (I had auditioned spontaneously on the last day near the end of auditions) I was really surprised to know that I had made it into the talent show at all. And let me tell you, I have no flippin’ clue how this is going to play out. Growing up, my whole preconception of being in a talent show was that a few acts go on to a small stage set up in the cafeteria with a few parents, teachers, and maybe some students watching. I’m not going to say that I’m nervous, because I’m not, but I just don’t really know what to expect. The talent show seems a lot bigger and more intense than I thought it would’ve been with several amazingly talented acts thrown in. I wouldn’t even consider what I’m doing a talent! But I’m really excited to be in the talent show anyway and this experience is going to be one heck of a ride that I’m glad that I’m a part of it. Who knows? Maybe I’ll decide to write about it when writing songs like these get me famous.

-Matt

Leave a Reply

