Senior Year: A Year of Adventure

Senior year. Some say it’s the party year of high school. Others say it’s a time to embrace your high school career and find out what truly makes you happy. Walter Kirn says it is a waste of time and money-  I strongly disagree with him.

Kirn describes senior year as a time of “oafish goofing off, chronic truancy, random bullying, sloppy dancing in rented formalwear and interludes of moody, wan philosophizing” and argues that senior year should be abolished in his article “Class Dismissed”. Well let me tell you something Walter Kirn, senior year is so much more than that. Senior year is a time to embrace your high school career. It is a time to really figure out what makes you happy and to truly find yourself. It is a time for adventure and exploration.

Personally, I am looking forward to senior year because, let’s face it: junior year sucks. With all the testing and stress it’s hard to enjoy high school and that’s where senior year comes in. It gives me a chance to recuperate and allows me to leave high school with epic memories of senior year. If high school were to just end after junior year, I would probably have little to none good memories simply because all the stress and long nights filled with work would be the only thing that comes to mind. Senior year is also a time where I think I could really find out what makes me happy and what I want to do with my life.

During my senior year, I plan to make good memories and have as many adventures as I can. And hey Walter Kirn, just because you didn’t have a senior year, doesn’t mean we all can’t have one!

So here’s to new adventures and uncovering our passions.

-Kim

Leave a Reply

