DIY: We’ve come a long way

With the deadline for this DIY project creeping up on us, my group and I are trying to pull together what we have. Recently, we’ve mostly been just editing because there is no time to get any more footage. For the past couple Fridays, we’ve been spending time working on editing on Adobe Premiere Pro.

prcs51

My teacher is planning on having an event in which students get the opportunity to talk about their projects. My partners and I want to be able to participate and give a presentation about our project, and the process of working on it. However, we do not think that we will have enough time to finish the entire documentary that was supposed to be our project in time for this event. Therefore, we have decided to create a little trailer for our documentary, to use in our presentation.

The trailer so far is about two minutes, and it is basically shows what our documentary will be. A while ago, Brandon and I went to Jessie’s house in an attempt to record some of Brandon’s piano-playing for the background music of our trailer. However, that did not work out because there were other sounds in the recording besides the piano, so we decided not to use that music. Despite the fact that we cannot use our own music for the trailer, though, my group members are still quite happy with the way the trailer is coming along.

Keyboard Keys Close Up

In all honesty, both the trailer and the documentary itself is not turning out the way I had planned it. There are so many things in them that I was specifically taught to avoid in BBN, my video production class. There is annoying background music and noises in the interviews. Some of the camera work is out of focus and shaky. We do not have any B-roll. However, the rest of the people my project group are quite content with what we have and continuously tell me that our project will turn out fine. I am grateful for their optimistic attitudes, because I am learning to look past these flaws and see that we really have come a long way. Even if our project does not turn out perfectly perfect, it will be amazing, simply because we have worked so hard on it.

– Karen

 

 

2 thoughts on “DIY: We’ve come a long way

  1. gasp! but you’re a BBN producer! just kidding I think its very good that you got more experience from the journey than the destination, looking forward to seeing the documentary

Leave a Reply

