Fall Down Seven Times, Rise Up Eight

It’s been a tough week for me, and it’s only Tuesday.  My mentality has really been tested these past couple of days after receiving information that I did not receive a certain position in student government that I have been working towards.  It hurts.  It’s disappointing.  It honestly just sucks knowing what I could have been.  But the worst part about this is how there may be some degree of resentment between me and my peer who received the position.  I don’t want there to be because student government, or ASB, is a family, but it’s simply out of human nature for me to be bitter.   I am being as mature as possible regarding the situation and in the end, it isn’t about me but the ASB around me and our mode of operation.

get-backup

 I have been talking to close friends, family members, and teachers about how I feel and I have been getting the same response: Stand up.  After I’ve listened to all of the gloomy songs I need to listen to, after I’ve eaten all of the ice cream I need to eat,  after I’ve shed all of the tears I need to shed, the only thing to do is to get up and move forward.  Like the Joads from Grapes of Wrath, I cannot give up after tripping up on one hurdle.  They didn’t stop looking for jobs in California because their hunger for success drove them to places for various jobs.  I have to power through and search for my happiness, because it will not be handed to me.

Top-10-Sure-Ways-to-Achieve-Success9

I must rise from these ashes and bloom into a bigger, better person than I could have ever been if I didn’t fail.  I will learn from this, and only use this as fuel to work harder.  I will not let this define me.

everything-happens-for-a-reason

So whatever you do in life, whether it may be good or bad, just know that it was simply destiny.  You may be at your low point like me but remember that it all gets better and that everything, and I mean everything, happens for a reason.  Be patient. Wait for another door to open, because the door is creaking in some sunlight as I speak.

– Nick

Leave a Reply

