Before I Graduate: The End

This DIY project has come a long way hasn’t it?  What first was created by an idea, eventually sprouted and became something bigger than it was originally planned to be, also known as my Before I Graduate.  Initially, I thought of a couple of things I wanted to do before I kicked the bucket of high school and graduated.  I dreamed of those ideas, never realizing that I would eventually form these ideas into actual events.  The items on my list that I were able to accomplish were to play Hide and Seek at IKEA,  crash a wedding with a friend, host an assembly or an event, and go to a restaurant in hopes of receiving a free meal by pretending to get stood up.  Yes, all of those things happened and are true!  Pics or it didn’t happen?  I’m glad you asked!!!

Hide and Seek at IKEA was the most fun probably because I was able to spend time with some of my friends and to roam around IKEA as if it were our own playground.  Illegal? Yes.  Fun?  YES.  Funny story to this, we actually met another group of kids our age who were doing the exact same thing!  Their group had around 20 and we had 13, so we decided to combine forces and play one big round.  Except, a Swedish manager (I swear she was) came up to us and told us to stop or we wold get kicked out.  We left.

ikea 2

 

 

 

I crashed a wedding with a friend of mine, which was surprisingly easy.  I simply called my local church, asked for the dates of the next few weddings and the times, and boom.  With easy access to information like that, you’re basically asking to get your wedding crashed.  Okay it wasn’t a Kim-ye caliber wedding, but it was still awesome sitting with people I did not know and and ended up being invited to the reception later that night.

IMG_5972

IMG_5982

 

 

I’ve always wanted to host an event at a school function.  So when I was presented an opportunity to host our male pageant, Mr. Baron, with my best friend Matt, I took the offer in a heartbeat.  It was fun as I got some public speaking experience, script experience, as well as a bunch of laughs from the audience.

DSC_2401

 

Lastly, my attempts in receiving a free meal by pretending to get stood up was most likely the most popular and received the best feedback.  I went to our local Island’s and ordered for a table of two.  I waited for about half an hour and acted sad and very distressed.  After multiple melancholy conversations with the teenager waiter, Johnny,realized that I was rejected and was stood up.  He sat down and gave me pointers in life and tried to comfort me.  Although I did not receive a free meal, Johnny gave me a free basket of fries and a long-lasting friendship.

IMG_7320 (1)

 

This DIY project was truly wonderful.  I was able to jump out of my comfort zone and try many new things.  From this project I was able to become more adventurous, daring, and spontaneous.  I wish to continue my efforts of doing the top things that I want to do Before I Graduate since I did not finish many tasks this year (street perform, create care packages for the homeless, Before I Graduate chalkboard wall @school).  It was a great year, and I know that this is just the start for Before I Graduate!

 

– Nick

 

 

Leave a Reply

